Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami

Kotobukiya is going to release the 1/7th scale figure rendition of Mari Illustrious Makinami from the anime Evangelion 2.0 You Can (Not) Advance. It is the 3rd figure from Kotobukiya’s “plugsuit” figure line and is designed to be displayed along with Rei and Asuka. Slated for late November 2012, ¥7,728.

Honestly, this one is my favorite of all the 3 figures released by Kotobukiya. I’m really not that impressed with the figure renditions of Rei and Asuka. And as I always say, I only post figure news here in my blog which I think are great both design and overall sculpt.

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami (7)

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami (6)

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami (5)

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami (4)

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami (3)

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami (2)

Preview | Kotobukiya: Mari Illustrious Makinami

Figure Info

  • Character: Makinami Mari Illustrious
  • Release Date: November 2012
  • Origin: Evangelion Shin Gekijouban
  • Brand: Kotobukiya
  • Artist(s): Sadamoto Yoshiyuki (Illustrator)
  • Version: Plug Suit Style Version
  • Scale: 1/7
  • Price: ¥7,800

Join the conversation - 10 Comments

  1. silentxangel on Thu, 2012/06/07 at 12:59 AM

    I missed out on MF’s Mari and I don’t plan to miss this one.

    • Otakumouse on Thu, 2012/06/07 at 6:39 AM

      Yeah, I missed that one too :( though if you’ll ask me, I like the resemblance of MF’s Mari better than Kotobukiya. And if I’m not mistaken, It’s 1/6th scale too!

  2. silentxangel on Thu, 2012/06/07 at 6:50 AM

    True true! I actually have MF’s Asuka, and she’s one of my prized figures. IMO, Quality and rendition wise, MF, more often than not, trumps Koto. Hunting Mari in a reasonable price is impossible right now, meh. But I give Koto props for going with this suit for her; it’s different.

    Btw, I’ve always been a fan of your blog. It’s nice to see a fellow Filipino figure enthusiast.

    • Otakumouse on Thu, 2012/06/07 at 1:24 PM

      Thank you so much for the kind words :) Yeah I definitely agree about the quality of MF figures over Kotobukiya’s. For me, Alter, GSC, and MF’s are the leading brands when it comes to overall figure quality, with the exception of Native because most of their figures are exlusives :D

      I really love how they incorporated Mari’s helmet in this figure.

  3. pivotdoji on Thu, 2012/06/07 at 3:09 PM

    Not sure if their website is updated, but have you contacted mjh?

    http://www.myjhobby.com/searchresults.aspx?status=In+Stock&id=349

    • Otakumouse on Thu, 2012/06/07 at 3:59 PM

      Ow, thanks for the link pivotdoji! Didn’t know this one. Is this a PHI based hobby shop? Checking their site now :)

  4. pivotdoji on Thu, 2012/06/07 at 4:10 PM

    No problem :) Yeah, they are located in McKinley hills in Taquig. Well I haven’t got a chance to purchase from them thou.

    • Otakumouse on Thu, 2012/06/07 at 4:15 PM

      Thanks buddy! Their selection is not that big, though it’s good to hear we have an additional option when purchasing figures :)

  5. silentxangel on Fri, 2012/06/29 at 12:12 PM

    Thanks so much, pivotdoji! You are the best! I bought MF’s Mari from MJH and I’m so very happy about the whole transaction. It’s legit for sure and the price can’t be beaten :3

    • Otakumouse on Fri, 2012/06/29 at 3:47 PM

      Wow! that’s very good to hear! Lemme check out the site again to check what’s new. hmmm…..

Stormshade

A custom Reshade build with unlocked shaders for Final Fantasy XIV.

Phygure

A community-driven online magazine about toy and figure photography.